I'm on my 25th week this week. I have a feeling that the next month will go fairly fast. I'm thinking baby is still breech and starting to sweat a little bit about having to have a C-Section. I realized that I just need to be more trusting that if this was what God had planned, it's for the best.
Yesterday was so unbelievably nice. I could have stayed outside all day! There isn't much to do with little snow and warm temps but we played around as much as we could. Then we went inside and I made some hot chocolate and they had a cookie to go with it.
Yesterday I was more run down again. Somehow during the night I managed to pull several muscles in my body leaving me very stiff and achy all day. It literally took all day for me to clean the kitchen because I'd get tired of working on it after 10 minutes! But since Peter was gone, I let it be okay because we just had spaghetti for supper, which is super easy and just have to wash a few different pots. I organized a couple more pull-out drawers yesterday while the spaghetti was boiling and got rid of a hand full of utensils that we weren't using. Now I kind of know how many drawers I'd need to be satisfied. Today I hope to work on our pantry cabinet (which might take a little while) or our baking cupboard, and the rest of the time packing and playing with Maddy.
I am over-worrying about getting the flu this week. I am super, super scared. Our hotel in MPLS is non-refundable, and not only are we out a few hundred dollars, our trip that we've wanted to go on since beets is postponed, again. So, I am praying that we, (and family, since everyone is around everyone most of the time) can steer clear of it, at least through this weekend! It is a hard thing to let go, though and not worry. Three more days....
Tuesday, January 10, 2012
Monday, January 9, 2012
lovely weekend
Kate making her daddy a card for his birthday
Today is Monday and Peter is gone for three days. We are still debating what we should do. Peter already admitted it was almost making him sick having to be away from us for three days. I just hugged him real tight... thankful that he cares to be with us. It's not like any of his meetings are for his leisure. They are all about farming which we always hope are beneficial to the upcoming year. So far they have been... though we know his marketing and crop planning is only due to prayer of God's wisdom! (But the meetings sure do help)
My plan was to just rest this week and have nothing really planned... going to Fargo might take a lot of energy, lugging the kids around and heavy suitcases myself with this growing belly. When we stay in a hotel we always have to bring fans, and many other things even though it's just for a day- but it begins to add up when you have to carry it yourself! I am sure we will go, still... I will just have to keep it moderate today in what I do. I am, for sure, looking forward to a day with nowhere to go and nothing pressing to do. I might make a stop at hobby lobby, or their TJ Max. Can't ever get enough of those stores!
Peter's birthday was on Saturday which was a total success. We had so much fun. Since going through our marriage devotional every night, we have expressed to each other disappointments or frustrations we have. One of his frustrations is that I expect everything to be perfect, which I do admit is a huge struggle for me. So, to not add any pressure to him on his birthday, I made a vow that everything would be as laid back as possible. We would still need to make the house 'presentable' but if the dishes were not done, or there were other non-important things lying around, that would be OKAY! And it was. The night before we did some of the dishes and other things in the kitchen, straightened up the living room and that was it. I got up early and set up his presents, made a birthday card for him, and did a small devotion before everyone got up. Everything was really laid back and fun. We enjoyed time with our friends all day and then had family over at night for supper and dessert. Such a lovely dayThursday, January 5, 2012
busy day
Tonight we chose to play scrabble over watching a movie. I am proud of that! The score was: 279 to 215.... Peter won. We used up every single scrabble letter. I had the letter Q for the longest time and was not lucky enough to get the U to go with it. It was fun hour though! Today was a really busy day. I tried really hard to get as much done as I could in the morning while Maddy was awake but at home she doesn't do the best when she's alone. "Come play with me" says her little voice. I just can't resist!! I managed to quickly go through one cupboard (glasses and coffee cups) which I threw out a bunch of kids' cups without covers and I went through one cupboard that stores all of our Tupperware. I tried to convince Maddy to help me find covers for them but she did not want anything to do with it. When it was time to make lunch (pancakes) I then tried to convince her it was so much fun to help mix, but she pitched a fit, face down on the hallway floor kicking her legs. I think she was really annoyed that I wasn't giving her the attention she wanted -either reading books or something else one on one. I got the rest of my work done during her two hour nap, which i am so grateful she took a nap today. I cleaned out some of the kids' clothes, 6 drawers of my clothes, and some of my shelves in my closet.I pretty much had a fit in the car yesterday while going from store to store (after my appointment....which went well at 24 weeks) - My water bottle had spilled a little in my purse, leaving coupons, other papers, and my billfold wet! I could not find a single item in my purse... it was so messy. I am just tired of this clutter. I think it is reasonable to do one thing a day, and sometimes a few, sometimes none. As long as I am being productive through the week and doing extra (other than daily necessary work) I'll be most happy. I realize I need to rest when my body tells me to... and I was okay with that this week.

Tomorrow we are going to go clean the church because it's our month, then we are going to my nephews basketball game at night... somewhere in there I have to make a roast and a cheesecake... hopefully the fumes will not combine. Pulled Pork Cheesecake, anyone? PS... first year without Boston Cream Pie for Peter's birthday.... I am pumped. He made me one for my birthday, and of course he loved his own baking so much he asked me if I'd make him one, too. Uh oh, its time for bed!
Tuesday, January 3, 2012
organiz(ed)
That is a big goal of mine this week. I realize it all can't be done in one week, but we are getting a good head start on it! Yesterday I finally put all the kids' toys away in their rooms, cleaned up the living room a bit, and started on the red cabinet we have. I emptied out all the dishes that were in there, reorganized, and added more platters that were stored elsewhere. I cleaned out the kids' hats/gloves- got those washed (those are also stored in the red cabinet) along with coats, whites, and another load of laundry, cleaned out papers, paid bills, etc. I then started on the built in hutch we have. everything was removed, put back neatly, linens folded, things tossed, ah! It feels so good to look in there and see it NEAT!
I also know it is not possible to work like that every day but if I get a couple small areas done a day, I think that it would really be beneficial. Peter and I have started playing scrabble at night, too :) It has been so much fun. We are really getting serious about the kitchen remodel and Peter wants to get it done before the baby is born. I am really, really skeptical about this. I don't want any detail to be rushed, so that might mean a lot of work on my part researching and making sure it is not going to be completely chaotic before baby comes. I will probably have to meet weekly with our designer/planner to make changes. The one thing I am absolutely worried about is the cost. I've heard that if you have planned a certain amount, double or even triple it, - since it usually is a lot higher than you think. I have been pinteresting away this week with ideas on drawers, backsplashes, and other kitchen things. I hope I am not getting my hopes up!
I also know it is not possible to work like that every day but if I get a couple small areas done a day, I think that it would really be beneficial. Peter and I have started playing scrabble at night, too :) It has been so much fun. We are really getting serious about the kitchen remodel and Peter wants to get it done before the baby is born. I am really, really skeptical about this. I don't want any detail to be rushed, so that might mean a lot of work on my part researching and making sure it is not going to be completely chaotic before baby comes. I will probably have to meet weekly with our designer/planner to make changes. The one thing I am absolutely worried about is the cost. I've heard that if you have planned a certain amount, double or even triple it, - since it usually is a lot higher than you think. I have been pinteresting away this week with ideas on drawers, backsplashes, and other kitchen things. I hope I am not getting my hopes up!
Sunday, January 1, 2012
naps, naps, and more naps
Welcome to 2012 ! It hardly seems real. Today I enjoyed a nice two hour nap. Pretty much every day since Christmas I've had a two hour nap; not to mention the week prior! and probably the week before that. It seems like I've been overly tired for a long time and I'm just waiting to get out of this rut. This week I have an appointment and i'm going to bring up some things like tea, tiredness (maybe my iron is really low) and a couple other things that I'm not remembering right now.
I've also decided that we need to use our time more wisely when Peter is home and getting things done around the house. He cleaned the basement this weekend--sweeping, throwing out trash, washing the appliances like the washer/dryer, fridge, etc. He did such a great job and I am so proud of him. I was so impressed and told him about 5 times. I wanted him to know how much I appreciated it. It wasn't messy to begin with, but just for it to be "clean" makes me feel better. I cleaned out one kitchen cupboard, a closet, and managed to get rid of lots of things we aren't using. We plan to give away, or store a couple things upstairs. I feel like when we have less things, it is more manageable. So, simplifying is on the agenda this week. I'm really, really hoping that my energy level will go back up. Yesterday I took a nap in the morning and another 2 hour nap in the afternoon. To me that is just plain odd! Then today, we slept in until 9 almost, and then another 2 hour nap. Anyway, I'm writing this down because I want to be accountable to do at least one or two cupboards a day/closets, anything. Just any type of decluttering and throwing out. That is my goal!
I've also decided that we need to use our time more wisely when Peter is home and getting things done around the house. He cleaned the basement this weekend--sweeping, throwing out trash, washing the appliances like the washer/dryer, fridge, etc. He did such a great job and I am so proud of him. I was so impressed and told him about 5 times. I wanted him to know how much I appreciated it. It wasn't messy to begin with, but just for it to be "clean" makes me feel better. I cleaned out one kitchen cupboard, a closet, and managed to get rid of lots of things we aren't using. We plan to give away, or store a couple things upstairs. I feel like when we have less things, it is more manageable. So, simplifying is on the agenda this week. I'm really, really hoping that my energy level will go back up. Yesterday I took a nap in the morning and another 2 hour nap in the afternoon. To me that is just plain odd! Then today, we slept in until 9 almost, and then another 2 hour nap. Anyway, I'm writing this down because I want to be accountable to do at least one or two cupboards a day/closets, anything. Just any type of decluttering and throwing out. That is my goal!
Wednesday, December 28, 2011
giddy
Right now I am feeling like I have the motivation to get the house nice. Sometimes something just comes over me, and I think it was our day shopping trip yesterday. I got to go into the antique mall and look at all their pretty presentations and furniture. Everything is always so beautifully set up. After literally all day shopping, my hips and feet killed so needless to say I was really tired and feel like I rested well last night. Today, clothes are on the agenda, sheets, and of course putting all the gifts away in their proper spots. Maybe even cleaning out some toys that are unnecessary. Santa gave me a bunch of kitchen accessories, like metal spatulas, whisks, silicon spatulas, and when I went shopping yesterday I got some hand towels half priced. I am getting extremely giddy about our possible kitchen redo. Although it is just merely "talk" for now, I am feeling horribly selfish and wanting it asap! We are waiting on bids from contractors and the biggest question is the upcoming year of farming. I felt like God has given us both peace for a kitchen redo-, at least sometime, and if it's not within this year or two, at least we can plan exactly what we want and save if needed. (But I want it soon!)For my birthday we don't have anything planned because my nephew as a tournament and I don't really want to go shopping again, so I'm not sure what we'll do. My dream birthday would be a clean house and be able to work on some quilting projects or things that I don't normally take time to do. I also requested spaghetti and garlic toast for supper so I am excited about that! Lots of work ahead of me and would like to do some crafts with the kids... so better go!
Thursday, December 22, 2011
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)













